In addition to catering the food, my fellow hosts and I decided to create two signature cocktails to serve at the party. Andy is the master of mixed drinks and well Katelin likes to drink, so we thought this would be a nice touch (she actually has also become quite the bartender thanks to Andy).

Like the food, I researched drinks that were popular during the 1920’s, which as we all know was the height of Prohibition in the United States. Despite the ban on alcohol, you couldn’t stop people from having liquor at parties. It was obvious that one of the drinks had to contain gin (since bathtub gin was incredibly popular) and that would have to be Andy’s drink, who has slowly been helping me overcome my distaste for the liquor (as long as the juniper flavor is masked, I am okay).

I finally decided to play off the French 75 for Andy’s drink. But instead of topping the drink with champagne (too girly) I decided to top it with Maker’s Mark (another Andy favorite).

Thus emerged the George 75  George 81 (I decided to change it to the year Andy was born after the event):
1.5 oz. London dry gin
1/2 oz. lemon juice
1/2 oz. simple syrup
Mix 3 ingredients in high ball with crushed ice (essential that the ice is crushed so the bourbon will float on top)
Top off with Maker’s Mark
Garnish with lemon slice

Punches were also popular and after Katelin told me that that her final meal would contain limoncello and prosecco, I knew I had my punch. I goggled several limoncello plus prosecco punch recipes but decided to stick to featuring the limoncello and prosecco instead of adding other fruit and several types of alcohol.

Patterson Prosecco Party Punch or 4 P’s was born. Note: Andy and Katie met at the 4 P’s in Cleveland Park, DC (before it became Four Fields).
1 cup vodka
2 oz brandy
1 1/2 cups limoncello
1/2 cup lemon juice
1 bottle of Prosecco
Add ice and lemon slices to punch

I made a little cocktail menu with the story of how I came up with the drinks.

Cheers to Andy and Katie!

