One of my favorite things my Dad would make me growing up were grilled cheese sandwiches (sorry Mom, but Dad’s were better).  It continues to be one of my favorite quick meals to make, but now that I am older I like to experiment with different types of grilled cheeses. Note: This is the first of many grilled cheese entries.

Last week when I was in Indianapolis I had lunch with my aunt and uncle at one of their favorite spots in Indianapolis, Hoaglin To Go. They had a grilled cheese sandwich on their special menu and was immediately intrigued because it was made from of two very pungent cheeses, Swiss and Gorgonzola. It was delicious so here is my take on the dish.

Ingredients
1/2 T olive oil
2 slices of Swiss cheese
1/4 cup Gorgonzola cheese
1/4 cup sliced red onion
3-4 sliced baby portabella mushrooms
1 cup spinach
2 cloves garlic
salt and pepper to taste
2 slices bread of your choice (I used whole wheat)
Butter for bread

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 10-15.
Calories: 550

Directions
Sauté onions in olive oil for 2 minutes. Add garlic and mushrooms and sauté for another 2 minutes. Sprinkle a pinch of salt and pepper. Add spinach to mixture and sauté until spinach is slightly wilted. Remove from heat and set aside.
Lightly butter bread on both sides and place on a flat pan over medium heat. After one side is browned flip over, reduce heat, and add 1 slice of swiss on each bread slice. Add gorgonzola to one side of bread and top with vegetables. Place bread with swiss only on top of other slice. Return heat to medium and apply pressure with spatula to sandwich to flatten. Flip sandwich to brown other side.

The gorgonzola and swiss cheese mix nicely together and the sauteed veggies cut the pungency of the cheeses. The sandwich is hearty enough that you don’t need a side but I washed it down with a glass of skim milk. Buen Provecho!

