I try to eat red meat only once (maybe twice) a month and when I do, I ain’t messing around. Most of the time I don’t make sauces but I had a lot of Gorgonzola left over from the grilled sandwich last weekend and wanted to try something new.

Gorgonzola sauce
Ingredients
3/4 cup Gorgonzola
1/2 cup skim milk
1 Tablespoon red pepper flakes
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
1 Tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2-1 teaspoon corn starch (to thicken sauce)
1 cup portabella mushrooms, sliced

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Calories: 127 per serving (makes about 4)

Directions
Heat olive oil in sauté pan. Add mushrooms and cook until browned. Add garlic and cook another minute. Add milk, red peppers, and lemon juice and bring to a boil. After mixture boils, reduce heat to medium and stir in gorgonzola. Keep stirring mixture until most of gorgonzola has melted.
At this point the mixture will be a little thick, but you can add 1/2-1 tsp of corn starch to thicken the sauce. I used 1 tsp and it was a little too thick so next time I will use only 1/2 tsp.

Meat preparation:
I had a t-bone steak that I lightly dusted with salt, pepper, and olive oil. Since the gorgonzola sauce was going on top, I didn’t want to overpower with any additional flavor on the meat. Turn oven to high broil and cook meat 6-7 minutes each side if you want it to be medium rare.
Since this was a big piece of meat, I took half for my dinner and sliced the rest for a salad the next day.

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Calories: 168

Faux mashed potatoes:
I love mashed potatoes, but I have come to love this low calorie faux version with cauliflower.

Ingredients:
1 small head cauliflower
2 Tablespoons part skim ricotta cheese
3 cloves minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup chopped fresh chives for garnish
2 tablespoons olive oil butter (or regular unsalted butter)

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes
Calories: 113 per serving (makes about 6)
Directions:

Set a pot of water to boil over high heat.Clean and cut cauliflower into small pieces. Cook in boiling water until well done. Drain but do not cool.
In a pot with an immersion blender or mixer, puree the hot cauliflower with the ricotta cheese, garlic, salt, and pepper until smooth (you can leave it chunkier if desired). Garnish with chives.


Total calories in meal: 406

