I had a lot of ricotta cheese that I didn’t know what to do with so, I took to the Internet to find ricotta recipes. I came across a gnocchi recipe using ricotta instead of potatoes and since I have never made gnocchi…I thought it was time to try. Luckily, my friend Devon was more than willing to help taste my first attempt at gnocchi.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup + 1 Tablespoon ricotta cheese
1 & 1/4 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2-3/4 cup all-purpose flour (you will need more to roll gnocchi)
1 Tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves minced garlic
1 can diced tomatoes (I ran through blended to remove chunks)
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
6 basil leaves, chopped
1 teaspoon oregano
Salt and pepper to taste

Prep time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Calories: 402 per serving (1 cup)
Servings
: 3

Directions:
Start a medium sized pot filled 3/4 of the way with lightly salted water and bring to a boil.

As water is boiling mix ricotta cheese, eggs, Parmesan Cheese, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in a medium sized bowl. Stir in 1/2 cup of flour. Add additional flour if needed to form a soft dough.
Grab a handful of gnocchi mixture and roll into 1/2-inch-thick rope-like pieces on a floured surface. You may need to add more flour as you roll. With kitchen scissors or knife. Cut each rope into 1-inch pieces and place to the side.
Heat olive oil in a saute over medium heat. Stir in garlic and cook 1 minute. Pour in diced tomatoes and red pepper flakes (I actually put in a little more than a tsp, which made it a little spicier) bring to a simmer over medium-high heat for 5 minutes. Stir in basil, oregano, salt, and pepper.

While sauce is simmering drop gnocchi in boiling water. Boil the gnocchi until they float to the surface. Scoop out with a slotted spoon as they rise.

Place gnocchi into bowl and spoon sauce on top. Add grated Parmesan cheese to top.

Food for Thought:
-I found this gnocchi recipe a lot lighter than traditional gnocchi. I didn’t feel bloated or overstuffed like I usually do when I eat gnocchi.
-I needed to add about an additional 1/4 cup to keep the gnocchi from sticking. As I kept working in the flour and dough, it became easier to work with. My first couple strings were pretty ugly.

