Nope, it’s not Christmas…it’s DC Restaurant Week.

Tomorrow my favorite week in DC begins. Restaurant week (for you non-DCers) is where many of DC’s best restaurants offer 3-courses lunches for $20.11 and 3-course dinners for $35.11 (price goes up one penny each year). Many other cities like New York City, Boston, and my hometown metro area, Dallas/Ft. Worth offer restaurant weeks.

Why is this my favorite year, warranting an entire post? Because for a reasonable price you can get a 3-course meal (appetizer, main course, and dessert) at restaurants you could not normally afford. Beverages are extra but sometimes restaurants offer drink pairings with each course for an additional 20 dollars. Check out the website to see menus.

As I mentioned before, I try to go to restaurants that I couldn’t normally afford a 3-course meal or if it’s a big group, a place with tapas-style meals (so you can get everything on the menu). I also try to go to restaurants that I have never been before, which these days is getting harder and harder. Also I try to only to eat from restaurants on Washingtonian’s 100 Best Restaurants. Another difficult task because those reservations fill up the fastest. I know it’s a lot of perimeters, but I take restaurant week seriously. 🙂

The other reason I love this week is my 3 standing dinners with different sets of friends, although this year one group can only do lunch. For summer restaurant week I will be going to Art & Soul with former Common Cause co-workers on Tuesday. Lunch is with my Top Chef/Former JRE ladies at Johnny’s Half Shell on Wednesday. And finally dinner with my best girls on the last night (Saturday) of restaurant week at either Kinkead’s or J & G Steakhouse. The reservation was originally for J&G since I’ve only been to the W for drinks on the roof, but after checking out their very limited menu options, I emailed the girls. Now I am just awaiting the final decision. I can’t wait, Buen provecho!

To find out which restaurants are extending restaurant week, click here. Where will you be dining?

