I am not going to pretend that I make extravagant meals every night. When I come home from work, I want something quick and easy. Brussels sprouts have become one of my favorite vegetables, which is funny because I refused to eat them as a child.

Ingredients:
7-8 slices of turkey kielbasa
7 Brussels sprouts, halved & stems removed
1/2 cup yellow onion, sliced into rings
1/2 cup baby portabella mushrooms, sliced
2 cloves garlic, pressed
1/2 Tablespoons olive oil
kosher salt
ground pepper

Prep Time: 8-10 minutes
Cook Time: 12 minutes
Calories: 259
Servings: 1-2 (If you wanted to add a side of rice I would split it up, but I ate it alone)

Directions:
Heat oven to high broil. Place sprouts in a microwaveable bowl cover with water and zap for 2 minutes. I learned this trick from my mom to quickly soften the brussels sprouts. Drain water and place sprouts in a oven safe dish. Drizzle olive oil (about 1/2 T) and dust with salt and pepper. Cook until lightly browned (5-7 mintues).

Meanwhile cook onions in 1 tablespoon of oil for about 2 minutes in a medium sized saute pan. Add kielbasa and garlic, cook 5 minutes. Add mushrooms cook another 2-3 minutes. When brussels sprouts are cooked as desired add to pan. Add any additional salt and pepper if desired. Toss and serve.

