Make lemonade of course! A ton of lemons recently came into my possession so I decided to make some homemade lemonade, which I don’t think I have done since I was a little girl. And even then I am pretty sure it was Country Time. Maybe if I used this recipe I would have made more money at my lemonade stand.

Ingredients:
6 freshly squeezed lemons (about one cup)
1 cup sugar
3 cups water
2 cups club soda (optional)
2 sprigs fresh rosemary or 3-4 fresh basil leaves (optional)
1 sliced lemon (optional)
Ice

Directions:
Bring 1 cup of water to boil. Add sugar and desired herb. Stir until sugar dissolves. Remove from heat.

Pour squeezed lemons, sugar water, 2 remaining cups of water and club soda to a pitcher. If you used the rosemary or basil add to pitcher and sliced lemons for garnish. Stir all ingredients well. Add ice.

Food for Thought:
-I added club soda to make the lemonade bubbly. If you want to go the more traditional route, add more water.
-I tried one batch with rosemary and another with basil. I found both added a refreshing flavor to the lemonade. It is of course delicious without the fresh herbs as well.
-You can reduce to 3/4 of sugar if you want it to be less sweet. Sometimes I top my glass off with a little more water if its still a little too sweet.

