My dad has been raving about this Asparagus Frittata for a while now, so I decided to make it…of course with my own twist. I have been wanting to find another time to use the smoked paprika that I used for the deviled Eggs I made at an engagement party and decided that it would be a nice addition to this recipe.

Ingredients:
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, thickly chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 pound asparagus, slice off tough ends
2 cloves garlic, minced
6 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup shredded Swiss Gruyere
1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

Prep time:
5 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Calories: 197 per serving (about 6)

Directions:
Preheat oven to broil.

Heat olive oil into a medium-sized, oven-safe frying pan over medium high heat. Add onions and salt and cook until onions are softened (3 minutes). In another pan boil asparagus in 1 inch of water for about 2 minutes. Drain and cut asparagus in to 1 inch pieces. Add asparagus, garlic and smoked paprika to onions and reduce heat to medium-low. Cook, uncovered for 4-5 minutes.
Pour eggs and cook until almost set, but still runny on top. Sprinkle cheese over eggs and put in oven to broil until cheese is melted and browned (3 to 4 minutes). Remove from oven and top with tomatoes. Sprinkle additional paprika if desired.
Food for Thought:
-As soon as I added the eggs according to the original recipe I noticed that 4 wasn’t enough so I added two more.
-Instead of boiling the asparagus you can follow directions to linked recipe but I find that without boiling first, the asparagus is still too tough.
-The smokiness is very subtle. I found myself sprinkling more on top to enhance the flavor.

