At least that was my perception of a gluten-free diet. Not being able to consume wheat which is in two of the most wonderful things in the world: bread and beer, led me to believe that I would ever want to consume gluten-free products. But I have learned that many things I already eat are gluten-free and it is still food I want to devour.

Last night I had my dear friends, the Kramers over for dinner and Autumn is gluten intolerant.  So I took to the internet to find some gluten free recipes and came across a great blog, Gluten-Free Goddess dedicated to gluten-free culinary goodness. I perused the Labor Day weekend entry and decided to add my touch to the Warm Quinoa + Spinach Salad with Grape tomatoes.

For the main course, I knew I wanted to do fish and I settled on mahi mahi since it has been a while since I have cooked it. I remembered a recipe from Spark Recipes back when I was counting calories religiously, so I decided to do a version of the Sweetly Succulent Mahi Mahi recipe.

Mahi Mahi Recipe
Ingredients:

3 tablespoons brown sugar
4 Tablespoons water
3 Tablespoons soy sauce
1 Tablespoon balsamic vinegar
2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger root
2 cloves garlic, pressed
1 teaspoon olive oil
3 5 oz mahi mahi fillets
Additional olive oil
Juice from 2 fresh limes
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
An hour before cooking, stir together sugar, water, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, ginger, garlic and olive oil in a small bowl. Refrigerate.

At the same time, season each side of fish fillets lightly with salt, pepper, olive oil and juice from lime in a oven-safe dish. Refrigerate. After fish and sauce have set for an hour (or more), preheat broiler.

Warm sauce in a small saute pan and bring to a boil. Let mixture boil for 5 minutes and reduce heat to low for 15-20 minutes until it reduces to a glaze.

Place fish in oven and broil 4-6 minutes on each side, turning only once. When you turn the fish, drain half the juices into the sauce and allow to simmer with other ingredients. Turn off broiler and keep fish in oven keep warm while sauce cooks.

Spoon glaze over fish, and serve immediately.

Servings: 3
Calories: 240 per serving
Prep time: 70 minutes
Cook time: 25 mintues

Quinoa Salad Recipe
Ingredients:
Extra virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
4 cups cooked quinoa
2 1/2 cups baby spinach
2 cups grape tomatoes, halved
1 orange bell pepper, chopped
4 scallions, sliced
Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste
1/4 cup fresh parsley, oregano, thyme, and basil
Squeeze of 2 fresh lemons

Directions:
Heat a large pan with 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Add the garlic and cook 1 minute. Add the cooked quinoa and heat through. Add tomatoes, bell peppers and scallions. Season with kosher salt and fresh ground pepper.

Drizzle more olive oil and lemon juice. Add spinach and cook over heat until spinach begins to wilt. Remove from heat.

Sample dish and add more salt, pepper, or olive oil if needed. Add herbs.

Place salad in casserole dish and stir to mix.

Servings: 6
Calories: 201 per serving (3/4 cup)
Prep time: 70 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes

Kramers enjoying dinner. Note: The two Lost posters in the background were a birthday gift from them.

Food for Thought:
-I did not marinate the fish in the sauce like the recipe called for because I thought it would be too sweet. Instead I added the lime juice to add acid to this and cut the sweetness of the sauce.
-The sauce for the mahi mahi is awesome. I drizzled a little bit on the fish and put the remaining sauce in a small bowl at the table. We pretty much doused the fish in the sauce and even sprinkled a little on the salad because it was so good.
-I reversed the order of cooking the veggies from the salad recipe because I wanted the tomatoes, scallion, and peppers to cook longer.
-The spinach really on needs to be warmed for 2 minutes because the heat of the dish will cause it to continue to wilt once removed from the stove
-The fresh herb mixture is clutch for the salad.

