The inspiration for this meal came from a fresh red pepper that I needed to cook before it went bad. I also cooked this the weekend I was having a “stay-cation” at my friends house in suburban Maryland while they were on a real vacation (I was watching their dog). Since they have a real house with an amazing kitchen plus a grill, I knew I wanted to use the grill since I don’t own one and play around in their awesome kitchen.

When I was standing in the grocery store I decided to do a red plate theme and grabbed a lovely rib-eye and a small basket of red potatoes. I also settled on making a red wine sauce to continue with the theme and use red onions with the potatoes and sauce. With all my ingredients purchased and general menu in mind, I set back to the house to prepare the meal.

Grilled Red Potatoes with Red Onions
Ingredients:
6-8 baby red potatoes, quartered
1/2 cup red onions, sliced lengthwise
2 Tablespoons minced garlic
Basil
Parsley
Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper

Prep time: 15 minutes (Includes boiling time)
Cook time: 15 minutes
Calories: 151 per serving
Servings: 2

Directions:
Boil potatoes in water until just tender. Do not overcook. Drain and place potatoes on aluminum foil. Add red onions and drizzle with olive oil. Dust vegetables with basil, parsley, salt, and pepper.

Loosely close aluminum foil and add to heated grill five minutes before you intended to cook meat. If cooking alone then cook potatoes about 12 minutes, turning once. Remove from grill and enjoy with meat or desired main course.

Rib-eye with Red Sauce
Ingredients:
For meat
8 oz rib-eye
2 Tablespoons minced garlic
olive oil
salt & pepper

For sauce
1 cup dry red wine
1 cup beef broth
2 Tablespoons butter
1/2 red onion, chopped
2 bay leaves
1 teaspoon honey
salt & pepper

Prep time: 30 minutes (Includes marinating time)
Cook time: 10 minutes for meat, 20 minutes for sauce
Calories: 394 per serving
Servings: 2

Directions:
Prepare meat by drizzling with olive oil, salt, pepper and 1 tablespoon of garlic each side. Allow to marinate 20 minutes before cooking. Cook meat on grill about 5-7 minutes each side for medium to medium rare.

Meanwhile melt butter in saucepan. Add onions and cook until tender, about 5-6 minutes. Add red wine, bay leaves, and honey to pan and boil until mixture reduces two-thirds, about 10 minutes.

Add beef broth, salt, and pepper and reduce again another 3 minutes.

When meat and sauce are ready, drizzle sauce on top and serve immediately.

Sauteed Red Peppers
Ingredients:
1 red pepper, sliced lengthwise
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 cloves garlic, pressed
salt & pepper

Total Prep & Cook Time: 10 minutes
Calories: 37 per serving
Servings: 2

Directions:
Heat olive in pan. Add garlic, cook one minute. Stir in red pepper slices, salt, and pepper. Cook about 5 minutes until peppers are tender.

Food for Thought:
-I think this was the first time that I cooked a meal with a color theme and might have also been a little inspired by the Twin Peaks marathon the day before (the creepy little man with the red suit in the red room also had red on my mind).
-The recipes are in order of preparation. The potatoes and sauce taking the longest to cook. I started the red peppers after I turned the meat to cook the other side.
-I boiled the potatoes first to reduce the time they needed to be on the grill. I also would normally sprinkle with rosemary and oregano, but since it wasn’t my kitchen I couldn’t find the herbs in the pantry.
-I usually don’t used minced garlic from a jar, but if its available it saves prep time.
-Of course, I enjoyed the meal with a glass of red wine.
-Since this was really a meal for two, I prepared the leftovers with scrambled eggs the next day.



Total Calories in Meal:
582
Total Prep and Cook Time: About an hour

