I had a bag of marshmallows and box of graham crackers left over from my camping trip two weekends ago, so I wanted to find another way of making s’mores. I remembered a blog post from one of my favorite dessert blogs, Buns in My Oven about s’mores french toast but wanted a dessert to bring to book club. I found a quick and easy recipe for s’mores brownies that I decided to use.

I have to pause for a moment to reminisce on one of my favorite movies as a child, The Sandlot.

I would watch the movie over and over again, mostly because of my crush on Mike Vitar who played Benny “The Jet” Rodriquez. One of my favorite scenes is when they have their camp out in the tree house and the “Great Hambino” describes how to make s’mores. Because of this scence I will often say: “You’re killin’ me Smalls.” I even used another line from this movie on our senior shirts for my sorority (yep, I said sorority) in college: “Heroes get remembered, Legends never die.”

Since this movie is about baseball, I also have to pause to give a shout out to my Texas Rangers, who are playing in the World Series (something growing up a Rangers fan, I never thought I would see). Go Rangers! I already won a 12 pack of Shiner during the Detroit series and I have a home cooked dinner riding on this game with a friend who is a Cardinals fan.

Now back to the cooking. I of course made a few changes the recipe to add my own touch. Seriously, this recipe is so easy that even a non-baker like me couldn’t screw it up.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
6 Tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
1 Tablespoon sugar
1 box brownie mix
1 bag jumbo marshmallows
sea salt (optional)
cinnamon (optional)
all spice (optional)

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 50 minutes (depends on the brownie mix)
Calories: A lot
Servings: 10-12

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix graham crackers, sugar and butter in a bowl and mix well. If you are using the cinnamon and all spice, mix a dash or two together with the rest of the ingredients. Press graham cracker crust into a greased baking dish (I used an 8×8).

In a separate bowl, make brownie mix according to directions and pour on top of crust. Bake according to instructions on the box.

Once the brownies have cooked, allow to cool for about 10 minutes. Top the brownies with marshmallows. Salt if desired.

Broil until marshmallows have browned and puffed up.

Food for thought:
-I added cinnamon and all-spice to the graham cracker crust to add more flavor.
-I used Betty Crocker’s Ultimate Fudge Brownie mix, which was delicious but perhaps a little too sweet.
-I am a huge fan of salty and sweet so I dusted the top of the marshmallows with sea salt before broiling them. It crisped up nicely and the saltiness helped tame down the sweetness of the brownie mix.
-“OK, pay attention. First you take the graham, you stick the chocolate on the graham. Then you roast the ‘mallow. When the ‘mallows flaming, you stick it on the chocolate. Then cover with the other end. Then you scarf.” -Ham Porter
-Enjoy this clip from The Sandlot:

