Tags

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

If I were to ever write a love poem to an item of food, it would be to salmon. It is one of my favorite things to eat on a regular basis. I love how easy it is to cook. How little seasoning it requires. The way it flakes away as you slide your fork into the filet. The way it melts in your mouth. Like I said, I love salmon.

This is a quick and easy meal for those of you that are still learning to cook and cooking for yourself.

Ingredients:
For salmon
1 salmon filet
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt
pepper
garlic powder
minced onions

For Spinach
1 cup spinach
1/2 small onion, sliced lengthwise
3 cloves garlic, pressed
1 tablespoons lemon juice
Handful of cranberries
parmesan to sprinkle on top
salt
pepper

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes
Calories: 311
Servings: 1

Directions:
Turn on oven to high broil.

Place salmon in a small glass dish. Drizzle olive oil and lemon juice on top of salmon. Sprinkle salt, pepper, garlic, and minced onions.

Cook for 10-12 minutes (I like mine medium well).

Meanwhile heat oil in a saute pan. Add onions and cook 2 minutes. Add garlic and cool another 2-3 minutes.

Add spinach and stir. When spinach begins to wilt add lemon juice and cranberries. Keep stirring for 1-2 minutes. Remove spinach from heat.

Top spinach with some parmesan if desired.

Food for Thought:
-I like to broil my salmon so it chars a little on the top but remains moist in the middle.
-Substitute a freshly pressed garlic clove for garlic powder for a fresher taste.
-Spinach cooks and shrinks quickly so keep a close eye while it cooks.
-Instead of cranberries you can use raisins. Nuts like pine, almonds or walnuts are also a nice addition to spinach for crunch.

