On rare occasions I get in the mood to bake, which is what happened the other night. Okay I really wasn’t in the mood to bake but I was craving something sweet and I don’t keep sweets in my house, so I was forced to make something.

I saw the half empty bar of peanut butter jar in my fridge and instantly thought peanut butter cookies. I found this recipe from smitten kitchen, but I didn’t have all the ingredients so then I did something dangerous…

I starting pulling things out of my cupboard. Something I would do as a child, but this time I knew what type of things I was looking for. I found molasses and coconut flakes to add to the recipe. I thought the molasses would substitute the brown sugar easily and the coconut would add that extra umph.

Ingredients:
3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 + 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 + 1/8 cup sugar
2 tablespoons molasses
1/2 large egg, beaten
1/2 tablespoon milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup coconut flakes
For sprinkling: 1 tablespoon regular sugar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, the baking soda, the baking powder, and the salt. Set aside.

In another bowl, beat the butter and the peanut butter together. Add the sugar and molasses and mix until smooth. Add the egg and mix well. Add the milk and the vanilla extract. Add coconut flakes and mix. Pour the flour mixture into the peanut butter mixture and mix well until you no longer see the white of the flour.

Place sprinkling sugar on a clean surface like your counter. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls into the sugar and then onto ungreased cookie sheets.


Bake for 10 and remove from oven. Using a fork or spatula, lightly indent with a criss-cross pattern but do not overly flatten cookies. Bake another 2-3 minutes.

Cool the cookies on the sheets for 1 minute, then remove to a rack to cool completely.

Food for Thought:
-My measurements look funny because I halved to the recipe for 3/4 cup, 1/4 + 1/8 was the easiest way for me to figure out the correct measurement.
-Despite halving the recipe I still came out with 24 cookies so I took some to one of my neighbors to thank her for taking care of my dog the other day.
-I chose to beat the egg first so it made it easier to take half.
-It’s a good thing the recipe from smitten kitchen noted that the cookies might appear to look undone, otherwise I would have over cooked them.
-Too bad I didn’t have nutella in my fridge so I could have made these cookies.

