Many of my friends are traveling home this week to celebrate with Thanksgiving with their families. As they return to their hometowns, late nights will ensue with old friends at local watering holes. Stories and laughter will be exchanged over a few beers (and several shots) making for a night of fun but waking up with a monstrous hangover.

So what do you turn to when your head is throbbing after a night of drinking? Water, Gatorade, greasy food?

My standard is bacon, eggs, and pancakes. The eggs have to be sunny side or over easy and bacon crispy. I love runny eggs because I enjoy dipping my pancakes into the yolk. The bacon satisfies the need for grease, but I don’t like them too greasy. Recipe for buttermilk pancakes below.

Buttermilk Pancakes
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg
1 1/8 cups buttermilk
2 tablespoons butter, melted

Mix the flour, salt, cinnamon and baking soda together in a bowl. Add the egg, buttermilk, and butter. Stir together removing lumps.

Heat and lightly grease a large skillet.

Ladle batter onto pan (about 1/4-1/3 cup). Cook until lightly-browned on each side, about1 to 2 minutes per side. Makes 8-12 pancakes.

But the ultimate cure for a hangover is a Bloody Mary. Key elements for my perfect Bloody Mary: olives, pickle, Worcester sauce, horseradish, old bay, celery salt, and Tabasco.

I have spent years perfecting my Bloody Mary. It varies a little every time but the elements above are always major players. How do you like your Bloody Mary? What is your hangover cure?

