I intended to write this post over the weekend but I started the Hunger Games series the night before Thanksgiving and haven’t been able to put the books down. Two down, one more to go.

This year I took a backseat to Thanksgiving dinner, after cooking my first turkey last year. The past four Thanksgivings (minus last year) have been spent with my good friends the Kramers who have become like a second family to me since I moved to DC. We went to their family friend, Mary Lou’s house in Rockville, Maryland.

There was a great spread of pies…That I actually didn’t eat Thanksgiving Day because I was so full from dinner. I took a slice of pecan and pumpkin home. Both were good, but the pecan was especially delicious.

The turkey was perfectly moist and scrumptious. I am a dark meat girl, so I didn’t even pay attention to the white meat.

One of the things I miss most about spending Thanksgiving with my family is oyster dressing. It’s a Fields Family tradition and we all fight over who gets the last bite. I also miss the giblet gravy. I attempted to make it last year, but it wasn’t as good as when Dad makes it. Still the stuffing and gravy were good and the mashed potatoes Mitch made were fantastic.

There were sides galore! Corn pudding, green bean casserole, squash, cranberry sauce…it is no wonder that I was stuffed after my first helping!

My contribution to Thanksgiving dinner was gingered carrot souffle, two ways (gluten-free and gluten-filled). It had a nice sweet flavor and the savory additions I made slightly transformed the dish to provide extra punch.

It was yet another wonderful Thanksgiving with the Kramers and their extended family. Hopefully, next year I can spend it with my family.

Gingered carrot souffle
2 pounds carrots, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
4 tablespoons milk
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/3 cup homemade bread crumbs
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/4 teaspoon finely grated fresh ginger
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
5 large eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 2-quart baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Cook carrots until soft, about 10-15 minutes. Drain carrots and transfer while still hot to a food processor. Add butter and puree until butter is melted and carrots are very finely chopped.

Add cinnamon, ginger, baking powder, cayenne pepper, and salt to carrots. Mix one minute. Add brown sugar and mix another minute. Lightly beat eggs with milk and add to processor. Puree for several minutes until completely smooth. The mixture should have the consistency of a thick milkshake with no bits of carrots within.

Pour the mixture into the prepared baking dish, smooth top and bake for about 50-60 minutes, until slightly puffed and almost set (it will jiggle slightly even when done).

Food for Thought:
-To make the souffle gluten-free, I omitted the bread crumbs.
-The recipe called for plain bread crumbs but I used my homemade bread crumbs with herbs to provide a more savory flavor.
-Since the souffle is more on the sweet side, I sauteed some onions to serve on top. This was again to add a little more savory flavor.
-I followed the Metrocurean recipe, only changing the method of mixing the ingredients and adding more cayenne pepper for extra spice.

Gluten-free gingered carrot souffle

