Tags

, , , ,

My parents got me a pressure cooker for the holidays, something they bought last year and have been raving about ever since. I was a bit apprehensive about the pressure cooker and I have to admit that I wasn’t initially excited. Perhaps my apprehension stems from my tendency to be more traditional with my cooking style or maybe the disasters I have seen from Top Chef contestants attempts. My dad made several meal with the pressure cooker while they visited and I slowly began to warm up to the idea. But after making risotto in 20 minutes–I think I am a convert.

That’s right, risotto in 20 minutes. No more sitting over a stove for hours, stirring constantly. This light, healthy, vegetarian risotto will be sure to please any palette. You can easily duplicate the recipe with out a pressure cooker using similar methods from this recipe.

This is recipe is based using the Cuisinart electric pressure cooker.

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 shallot, finely diced
2 teaspoons fresh basil, finely chopped
1 sprig fresh rosemary, leaves removed from stick
1 teaspoon fresh oregano, finely chopped
2 cups Arborio rice
1/2 cup dry white wine
1 teaspoon kosher salt
4 cups vegetable broth
1/2 pound (8 oz) asparagus, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 medium sized yellow squash
3/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes
Calories: 210

Directions:
Select saute on the pressure cooker. Place oil and butter in cooking pot and heat for 2 minutes until butter is melted.

Add shallots, garlic, basil, rosemary, and oregano and cook until shallots become translucent, about 2-3 minutes. Stir in rice and cook 3-4 minutes, stirring frequently. Add wine and salt, stir, and cook until rice absorbs wine.

Add 3 1/2 cups of broth and stir. Cover and lock lid in place. Select high pressure and set timer for 6 minutes. When cooker beeps lift pressure valve and release the pressure until the steam stops and float valve drops.

Select simmer and add remaining broth and stir. Cook, uncovered for 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add asparagus and squash, stir and cook another 2-3 minutes.

Add cheese and stir until melted.

Serve in a bistro or deep bowl. Add more cheese on top if desired. Makes 6-8 servings.

Food for Thought:
-Because the asparagus and squash were added after the pressure cooking they were nice and crisp adding crunchiness to the risotto.
-I had to call my dad several times while using the pressure cooker for the first time because I was nervous I would mess it up.

