Tags

, ,

This is one of my favorite quick and easy recipes. I play with different vegetables and sometimes add shrimp if I want a little more protein (of course then it isn’t vegetarian).

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups basmati rice
1 tablespoon sesame seed oil
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1-2 teaspoons oyster sauce
1/2 small white onion, diced
1 medium carrot, chopped
1/2 cup baby corn, halved
1/2 cup bean sprouts
1/2 cup shelled edamame
2-3 eggs, beaten
1 small bunch green onions, chopped

Directions:
Boil rice according to directions.

Heat sesame seed oil in a wok. Add onions and carrots and cook until softened. Meanwhile scramble eggs in another pan. Once eggs are cooked to desired consistency, set aside.

Add green onions, baby corn, bean sprouts and edamame. Cook 1-2 minutes. Reduce heat. Add cooked rice and mix well with vegetables. Stir in soy sauce and oyster sauce. Taste and add more soy or oyster sauce if desire. Mix in eggs. Make sure all ingredients are mixed well.

Food for thought:
-I am not a fan of peas which you traditionally find in fried rice so I replaced it with edamame.
-Oyster sauce adds a bit of sweetness to the dish.
-I bought a rice cooker a couple of years ago thanks to a Rue La La sale, which is great because I can start the cooker and leave it alone until I am ready to serve or mix with other ingredients.

