Tags

, , ,

For years I have wanted to volunteer at DC Central Kitchen, a wonderful program that provides over 5,000 meals daily in DC and this Sunday I finally got that opportunity through an alumni service project from my alma mater. Not only does DC Central Kitchen turn leftover food into meals for local shelters, transitional homes, and rehabilitation clinics but also provide career training for unemployed adults overcoming homelessness, addiction, and incarceration through their Culinary Job Training program.

In addition to providing great services, there are tons of volunteer opportunities that allows individuals and organizations to learn about their work and give back to the community. I volunteered for their Morning Meal Prep program where you do a range of food prep related activities. Sunday’s activities included stringing green beans, opening canned fruit, mixing meals to be sent out, and peeling onions. I chose the later activity and peeled over 100 onions (at least).

It was a wonderful way to spend my Sunday morning doing a cooking related activity and giving back to a city that has been so good to me. I also got to catch up and spend some quality time with fellow alum and sorority sister, Brystol who with me is co-chairing the service activities for the DC alumni chapter for Austin College.

To find out more about the programs and work of DC Central Kitchen click here and to sign up to volunteer click here. Volunteer shifts fill up quickly so plan ahead!

