Tags

,

To say I haven’t had time to blog would be an understatement. The not so new job has been keeping me busy and it has been a spring/summer full of wedding showers, bachelorettes, and of course weddings. It also means that I haven’t had much time to cook, which makes me sad. Cooking gives me joy but to be honest it has become a chore lately because of my busy schedule.

With that said I did some cooking a while back when I co-hosted a couples wedding shower for my friends Mark & Alicia, who got married over Memorial Day weekend. Below is an assortment of appetizers I made for their shower.

Blackberries on toast. Little melba toasts with goat cheese spread on top, a 1/2 tsp of honey and blackberries on top. Quick, easy, and a little sweet that is softened with the cheese.

I have mentioned before that I am not much of a baker but once in a while, the desire comes out especially when I want to try a new recipe. I came across this recipe for yogurt cake from kitchn and wanted to try it with a few alterations. It is light and it keeps well. Since we had so much food at the shower I was able to bring the leftovers to work and it stayed fluffy and moist.

Yogurt-ricotta Cake
1 cup greek yogurt
1/2 cup non-fat ricotta
2/3 cup olive oil
1 1/4 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
zest of 1 lemon

Heat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-inch cake pan lightly with baking spray or oil.

Whisk together the yogurt, ricotta, olive oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Add the flour, baking powder, soda, salt, and zest into the liquids and stir just until no lumps remain.

Pour the batter into the cake pan and bake for 50 to 60 minutes, covering with foil at the end if the top is browning. Transfer the cake to a cooling rack and let it cool for 10 minutes before removing it from the pan.

Serve with fresh fruit and a little whipped cream if desired (the fresh fruit is definitely an added bonus).

The belles of the ball were the baked eggs in avocado. It was a huge hit…I mean eggs and avocados, what’s better than that? All you do is slice an avocado in half, remove the pit and scoop out enough avocado to crack an egg inside. Preheat oven to 425 degrees and place avocados on a greased jelly roll plan or cookie sheet. About 10 minutes before eggs are cooked to your desired consistency (over easy, medium, etc) put desired toppings. I topped them with cojita cheese, garlic, salt, pepper, and green onions. After I pulled them out the oven, I added a tomatillo salsa to add a kick.

Another easy recipe that will make people think you labored all day in the kitchen and even better you can make guacamole with the avocado you scoop out.

