Tags

,

I learned about pickle dip from my Aunt Chris’ (yes I was named after her) friend Pat last year when I went to Indiana for the Fields Family reunion. She came over the night before and I made sure to get the recipe for pickle dip, which I made for a baby shower I co-hosted this weekend. Another quick and easy recipe that is sure to be  a crowd pleaser.

Pickle dip
Ingredients
12 ounces light cream cheese
5 ounces dried (chipped) beef, chopped
7-8 dill pickle spears, cubed

Directions
Mix all ingredients well in a bowl. Serve with crackers or pita chips.

I have been wanting to make this recipe for pizza dip for a while and finally found my opportunity because the mommy to be’s favorite food is pizza, which she can’t have anymore since she has to have a gluten free diet.

Pizza Dip
Ingredients
4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 cup mozzarella, shredded
1/2 cup parmesan, shredded
1 cup pizza sauce
1/2 cup mozzarella, shredded
1/2 cup parmesan, shredded
2 ounces pepperoni, sliced
2 tablespoons green pepper, chopped
2 tablespoons black olives, sliced

Directions
Mix the cream cheese, sour cream, 1/2 cup mozzarella and 1/2 cup parmesan in a bowl and then spread it across the bottom of a pie plate.

Spread the pizza sauce on top and sprinkle on remaining cheese, pepperoni, green pepper and olives.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes or when the sides begin to bubble and cheese on top has turned golden brown.

Serve with sliced bread of choice.

Food for Thought:
-Pat swears by Vlasick pickles for the pickle dip. I am probably going to try some kosher dill from a Jewish deli next time.
-For some reason the green peppers I used caused some water to form on top of the pizza dip. Not sure why it happened but it was still delicious.
-The pizza dip recipe calls for mayo (which I hate) so I doubled the sour cream and I think it was a wise choice.
-When I put my hand up on your hip, when I dip you dip we dip. Yes Da Dip by Freak Nasty was in my head while making the dips. Nothing like awesomely bad 90s hip hop.

