Tags

,

And she’s back after quite a long absence. 2012 was an incredibly busy year work, meaning I had little to no time to work. And even after thing the election, (I work on voting rights) it took me a while to get back in the groove of cooking and I wasn’t in the mood to blog. But I am back and I am starting off something I made for Thanksgiving (yup way back).

Thanksgiving was the first time I really cook after I arose from my post-Election haze. I found a recipe for polenta triangles after sifting through my backlog of Google Reader. I added a cranberries and goat cheese to the recipe to change it up.

Ingredients
8 ounces your favorite pork sausage (I like pork sausage with sage)
3/4 cup finely chopped yellow onion
1/2 cup dried cranberries
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 cups water
1 1/4 cups 1%-2% milk (I used 2%)
1 cup instant polenta
1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions
Heat a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Coat pan with cooking spray. Add sausage; cook until brown using spatula to break up the sausage into crumbles. In a separate skillet sauté onion and garlic until vegetables are tender. Add veggie to sausage and set aside.

Add 1 1/2 cups water and milk to sausage mixture in pan, and bring to a boil. Gradually add polenta, stirring constantly with a whisk. Stir in salt. Cook for 3 minutes or until thick, stirring constantly.
IMG_5197
Spoon polenta into a glass or ceramic dish. Cool to room temperature. Add cranberries and goat cheese, mixing well. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

IMG_5199

Cut the chilled polenta into squares and then cut each polenta square diagonally into triangles. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat with olive oil. Place triangles into pan, cook for 2 minutes on each side or until browned.

IMG_5201

Food for Thought:
-I added cranberries to sweeten the dish and goat cheese because it is delicious.
-I used 2% instead of skim like the recipe asks because I think skim milk tastes like water (aka gross).
-Adding the goat cheese made them a bit more crumbly so next time I will add a little more polenta.
-I also found that mixing the polenta with the sausage mixture made it harder to get rid of the clumps so next time I will cook the polenta and then add the sausage.

